Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Resolutions

Because New Years resolutions are cliche... maybe I'll just start mine a few days earlier...


  • Spend less time on my phone... in all reality its really not necessary
  • Become bffs with the gym, hit a few new classes, gotta look good for all these upcoming weddings hahaha
  • Find my inner crafter - interior decorating is so expensive... so I will break out the hot glue, spray paint and sewing machine and go to town.  Hit up the garage sales and make other people's trash my treasure.  
  • Get up early and eat breakfast at home.... I guess packing my lunch would fit here too.
  • Make dinner more often and try to learn and love leftovers... maybe utilize them in the aforementioned lunches.   

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Delayed Thanksgiving

In light of the recent holiday, I made a list of (some are random) things I am thankful for....


  • My parents, Guild (sort of - ::shakes fist::) and the City of San Marcos for making my condo possible
  • My job - yay for a paycheck, but also more importantly liking what I do
  • Samantha being my pseudo child sometimes - really makes it a lot easier to not have one of my own, spoil her and give her back, woo
  • Costco - do I need to say more?? Actually, I am thankful my mom shops at Costco.... makes it so easy to liberate supplies (she doesn't really  need all of those_____)
  • High heels - they make your legs look so good
  • My dad - he is basically my unpaid laborer at my house (and an amazing one at that)
  • My mom - she loves finding new things I need for my house - yay her
  • My health - and really all of my family's health
  • Football
  • Vegas only being ~5 hours away
  • Old pictures - I love looking back on all the fun things I/we've done
  • Learning via other people's actions/mistakes - thanks for taking one for the team!
  • Pedicures
  • Avocados - they are so delicious
  • Prevalence of Mexican food - I might die living somewhere where this wasn't the case
  • Other people's family drama - way better when it's not your own
  • How much funnier Office Space is the more I work in the corporate world 
  • Caitlyn - and my ability to tell her anything (overshares ftw)
  • Amazon.com prime shipping - no tax and free 2 day shipping rocks my world
  • My brother - will you please move home already? I miss you, and would like you to take up some of mom's energy
  • Happy Hour - 'nuff said
  • Tailgating, and Chargers games
.... and a million more

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Passport Stamps

The Huffington Post recently published a list of what they believe are the 35 most beautiful cities in the world.  I've manage to cross off a few in my travels, but I need to rack up some airline miles and cross off some more.....
1. Florence, Italy
2. Marrakesh, Morroco
3. Sydney, Australia
4. Vancouver, Canada
5. Cape Town, South Africa

6. Venice, Italy
7. San Francisco, California, USA
8
. Tokyo, Japan
9. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
10. Istanbul, Turkey

11. Chicago, Illinois, USA
12. Prague, Czech Republic
13. Paris, France
14. London, UK
15. Amsterdam, The Netherlands

16. New York City, New York
17. Lyon, France
18. Zurich, Switzerland
19. L’viv, Ukraine 

20. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 
21. Stockholm, Sweden
22. Dublin, Ireland

23. Boston, Massachusetts
24. Salzburg, Austria
25. Old Quebec City, Canada
26. Victoria, Canada
27. Monte Carlo, Monaco
28. Reykjavik, Iceland
29. Antigua, Guatemala 

30. Rome, Italy
31. Birmingham, UK
32. Buenos Aires, Argentina
33. Seattle, Washington, USA
34. Lausanne, Switzerland
34. Bruges, Belgium
35. Edinburgh, UK




Out of those visited thus far... I think Amsterdam was my favorite.

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Mommy wow, I'm a big kid now!

Today is the beginning of the rest of my life (again).  Well, I guess there are a few times you say that in your life; graduations, accomplishments, marriage, kids, etc.  But today is one of those days that I will look back on because it signified something monumental.  Today (well tonight) is the first night I am staying in my condo.  Although I technically got the keys on Friday, tonight is my first night sleeping here so it finally feels real.  A place of my very own, something I've worked for (and will have to continue to do so for the next 30 years, no pressure).  I think today makes me feel more like an adult than ever before, it's  a new chapter in my life I am slowly putting together.

Currently the my condo is pretty empty.  The only furniture here is my bed; the walls are bare, the living room is just an open space.  So right now it feels kind of empty (and a little lonely - but good thing my excitement overpowers that).... but in the coming weeks it will come together.  I'm excited for it to come together and be a place I picked out, I purchased and I made into a place to call home. I can't wait for it to feel home-y!!

I've moved out of my parents a few times over the years, with college and renting places around town, but today leaving was different.  Different  because it was basically for good ('God willing and the creek don't rise' as my Grandpa would say).... which didn't really hit me until now.  I tried to ignore my mom who was getting emotional as she watched me pack up my bed; which to her signified it being official.  I wasn't going to be coming home there anymore (I mean I will occasionally - who doesn't love free dinner), but it showed her I was a "big girl" and was officially grown up and out of the little nest I've called home for 24 years. I think she might have an emotional break down the day the rest of my furniture leaves and my room is completely empty (not that she might have not started said breakdown tonight).  I can't really imagine the emotion, I mean I presume it's mostly happy, but it has to be a little sad.  I mean I don't know how all families are, but I think this is much harder on my Mom today, and my Dad is indifferent... Dad is just thinking of his honey-do list I have created for him.  (Dad will encounter this mess of emotion at my wedding - mark my words).  I feel SO lucky to have supportive parents that helped me get to here, and I can't even explain how elated I felt when they both individually told me that they were so proud of me.  I think as kids that's one thing we always want to hear from our parents, besides "I love you".   Thinking about it made me emotional (which is a rarity for those who know me - and thank goodness this isn't a video blog, talk about awkward), but it's just a big step in my life.

Well I better try and get some sleep, although I wonder if it will be reminiscent of childhood when you are too excited to sleep - I hope not, because that will make tomorrow at work not so much fun.  The lack of blinds and east-facing windows will probably ensure I awake earlier than I intended, which might be good on the long run, but not so much tonight/tomorrow.

Au revior from my new humble abode.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Deal Breakers

So everyone has them.... what are yours? (yes I expect some comments from my readers.. haha)


  • Not family oriented
  • No drive
  • Doesn't want to get married or have kids
  • Someone who wants a "sugar mama" or needs to be financially supported (I mean I understand if it's temporary like grad school... but forever, not so much)
  • Inability to be independent 
I'll update with more soon. 



Friday, August 6, 2010

Lista de Cubo

... because well one day, I'm just gonna kick the bucket.  The following are in no particular order...


  • Bungee jump
  • Be at a wedding where someone stands up and objects
  • Get married (and the above better not happen there!)
  • See the seven wonders of the world
  • Wine taste all over the world
  • Visit my family in Scotland
  • Swim in the Atlantic Ocean (well let's aim for all ocean's while we're at it)
  • White-water rafting
  • Have children (2; one boy, one girl; God knows what's up)
  • Write a book
  • Get my MBA (or another Masters degree)
  • Give a scholarship to someone who needs it
  • Enjoy a snowy Christmas (just once, not a repeated thing)
  • Travel to: France, Scotland, Australia, Germany, Norway, Sweden, South America, Canada
  • Live somewhere outside of Southern California for at least a year
  • Own my own home
  • Be financially independent 
  • Make a difference in the world (or someone's world)
  • Road trip across the country
  • Ride in a hot air balloon
  • Open my own business
  • Crash a strangers wedding
  • Make a successful soufflĂ© 
  • Develop "family recipes" and have them carried through the generations
  • Never forger those I've loved and lost
  • Take lots of pictures
  • Join the mile-high club
  • Learn to play an instrument
plenty more I'm sure I forgot

It's August already?

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure:
Jersey Shore and other equally as crappy TV shows

Current Wish-List:
Paying off my credit card
Vacation getaway

Current Thoughts:
Guys finding direction
What's the point of a fall-back?

Current Triumph(s):
Still alive and kickin'

Current Blessing:
Not paying rent


Current Worries:
Taking on a mortgage
DUIs - why is everyone getting them?

Current Excitement:
Toby Keith Concert tomorrow

Current Mood:
Complacent, probably because I'm tired

Friday, July 30, 2010

C.P.lAme

So as an accountant I want nothing to do with the CPA.  You would have never known that based on my degree/career choice/being a CPA review course rep.... I mean it didn't help I failed at my first attempt either.  But what is more frustrating is that everyone at my company thinks you have to do it and it will differentiate you between other employees... Where as I see it as limiting, because then people will only pursue you for account roles, which as you may (or may not) know, is the last thing I really want to do.  Yeah journal entries and t-accounts, sign me up! Not!  So they see it as a door opener, I see it as a hallway creator.  You will have to go down this hallway of jobs that CPA's would just love to have (e.g. Corporate Financial Accounting)... I'd rather poke my eyes out than do AJE's.  Not only has my supervisor pushed it recently, making it part of our goals... when in reality it's her goal.  I don't think I really want it.  I'd rather get an MBA, or something in another focus than accounting.  I mean that will help me get into management or something other than being a staff accountant for the rest of my life.  But after my meeting with my new mentor he just reiterated this "go get your CPA" mantra that everyone preaches.  Why do accountants think that is the only option?  When in reality half (if not more) of accountants don't really love accounting.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Disorganized Bling

I feel like my life is so disorganized.  Well because it is... case in point my bedroom.  (Wow, that's embarrassing)   Half my room is packed up, then the other half is run amuck.   Then there are boxes in the living room and who knows how many in the garage.  I just want them to be unpacked.  I need to have my own home with organization and everything has a place.  Soon enough, soon enough.  Sometime between three weeks and August 23rd I can start to de-clutter and decorate!  

Speaking of decorating, that is a really daunting task.  Have to get the bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, living/dining room just right.  Ok, I'm not crazy anal and everything has to be a certain way, I just want it to look nice and most of all, put together.  Anyone an interior designer that wants to give me some free advice??  I figure I'll cross that bridge when I have myself a set of keys!

But the upside to my disorganization is the lovely gift I bought myself today.  My mom doesn't like it, but I do and that's all the matters.  So ever since SATC 1, I loved Samantha's ring (let's face it I love her too).  So Nordis and their fab anniversary sale, had a lovely little replica for me to take home with me.

So I guess those are my pit and pick of the day.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Keepin' it current

For lack of creativity, I'll keep you up on current events, and by events I mean my life.


Current Book(s):
Def don't have time to read.  I think I've started two of Chelsea Handler's books.  Want to read something more thought provoking though.

Current Music:
Pandora station based on "Swing Life Away" by Rise Against... Alternative rock pretty much.  
Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure:
Facebook stalking... we all do it, I'm just honest about it. Love wedding shows too, haha. 

Current Colors:
Lavender, green

Current Obsessions:
Decorating my soon-to-be house
Current Drink:
Water and hot tea (damn you sore throat)

Current Movie:
The last movies I've seen were "Our Family Wedding" and "Dinner for Schmucks" - Def recommend the latter
Current TV Show:
Mindless tv - Tosh.0, Secret life, Say yes to the dress, Jersey Shore, Nurse Jackie
Current Wish-List:
Escrow to be closed
Some extra cash
More sleep
Current Needs:
Sore throat to be gone
Get this model done
Creative outlet
Current Triumph(s):
Going to be a homeowner
Car almost paid off
Still kickin'
Landing my job
Current Goal(s):
Start exercising more
Start cooking more

Current Indulgence:
Blogging
Facebook
Current Blessing:
No rent at the parents (and they provide booze and food)
Having a good job
Current (Fav) Outfit:
Dresses!! 
Current Excitement:
Country Concerts
Weekend potentials
Current Mood:
Calm, Content

Thursday, July 15, 2010

"I don't think I've ever met a Woo Hoo Accountant"

I wish I was back in Vegas where all I had to worry about was where my next drink was, if I felt like going to the pool, where to gamble next or how late to sleep in.  Oh the life.

Anyways, here's me.  Cheer's to me on my Birthday.  Mmmm Goosetini. And probably be lots of pics of me... cause on your birthday it's all about you (despite what some think)




So in case you live under a rock, and aren't a big follower of my on facebook, twitter or (gasp) real life, my birthday was last Saturday (the 10th). So the only way to celebrate a non-monumental birthday (24) is to go to Vegas, not that you really ever need a reason to visit Sin City.

Anyways, the weekend was spent with old friends from High School (which I don't see that often, nor have our schedules crossed and allowed us to spend more than a few hours together every now and again since high school.  So, Friday morning-ish, we loaded up the car and picked up what felt like a carpool (since we picked up each person from a different place) and headed out [north]east. We arrived into Vegas around dinner time, and it was only about 110 degrees, no big deal.  Actually I grew to enjoy the heat... it was dry and not humid so you weren't all sweaty (not to mention it took out the guess work of bringing a sweater or not).  So after a complimentary upgrade to a mini-suite (thanks to my boobs, charms, birthday and asking nicely), I recevied a nice little surprise at the door.  Julie and Breanna ordered me chocolate covered strawberries and wine... It made me feel pretty bad ass, and played into the whole living the suite-life (get it ;-)).  Haha.  So dolled-up we got and headed to dinner.  We decided on Delmonico; Emeril's restaurant at the Venetian.  I was quite tasty and we had a really nice time together.    Post-dinner we proceeded to get ourselves into TAO... getting placed into the line that got us right in, fooling the cover lady with free passes for the following night, and oh yeah the birthday card.  We we danced and drank away.  I had a lot of fun, I mean who doesn't love strangers all up in your business.  But after a while, the group wasn't feeling it so we probably resorted to gambling.  Definitely didn't win anything all  weekend... but I guess Vegas wasn't built by winners, so I was just doing my part and making deposits.  Oh yes, and that's where the Woo Hoo Accountant came in.  Some English rando was at the blackjack tables, and I was celebrating his winnings for him (heaven forbid anyone be happy when they win some money)... so "Woo Hoo-ing" I was.  So he then asked if I was a Woo Hoo Girl, to which I replied, why yes, woo hoo.  Later he asked what I did for a living (because obviously not a professional gambler), and I told him I was an accountant.  To which he replied, I dont think I've ever met a woo hoo accountant.  Well I guess we all aren't miserable souls who work for the IRS... or I'm not really set out to be an accountant.


Saturday was spent mostly drinking Margaritas (see 100 ounce Margarita) and lying poolside.  

Saturday night, we turned into the little black dress club.  Birthday dinner No. 2, followed by gambling.  We were going to go to XS, but after thirty minutes and becoming quite sober, I decided gambling was more my style.  Nikki and I hit the $1 blackjack tables (yes, only $1) at Sahara.  As the pit boss said "you aren't here to win, you're here to drink".... which is my style.  Well, no I love to win... but I was all about drinking.  However when you ask the cocktail waitress for Grey Goose, and she says they only have "bar vodka", I should have been worried.  But I guess after being annoyed for most of the day and wanting to catch a buzz (for goodness sakes) I obliged to her only option.  Although decided Newcastle would be a safer bet if I wanted to avoid a headache in the morning.  So I gambled for three and a half hours on $20.  Woo hoo.  Nikki and I had a great time celebrating our minuscule wins and enjoying the company of our table.  I may or may not have been the table's welcoming committee.  

So that's pretty much it, or pretty much what I remember.  Slept most of the way home, only to continue the party at Samantha's 2nd Birthday, followed by an outing at the 55-yard line.  

Monday, July 12, 2010

I'd be pissed if I was his girlfriend


I'm sure you've seen this picture before, I mean who hasn't (hello under-rock dwellers).  Anyways, the lucky lady in the picture died a few weeks back and they were talking about the story behind it... Apparently the sailor was kissing every woman in his path; young, old, fat, skinny.  Which wouldn't be bad at all (I mean, yay war's over)... but his girlfriend is in the background.  Talk about awkward. 

If you want to read more: WWII Victory Kiss

Sometimes I wish I carried those!

Getting a little political now and then is always fun!

Food for thought... as I become more conservative.

Mid-20's

So I just realized that now that I'm 24 I'm technically mid-20's. Kind of exciting, kind of depressing.

Not horseshoes or hand grenades....

.... as in not close enough.

So today I was supposed to be closing escrow and be a happy little homeowner (let's be honest: mostly stoked, but then terrified by the idea of being locked into a mortgage for the next 30 years). However, since they failed to disclose that this was actually a form a short-sale... the waiting ensues. I wouldn't be so frustrated if they were to give me a new date to which we'd close escrow... but instead it's 35-60 days...or mid to end of August or never, it's really too hard to tell with these people.

I mean luckily I'm living rent free, thanks to my roommates (Alex: you mean your parents?.. Jeff: yea, same thing) so I theoretically should be saving money. But instead the idea of going out, going to Vegas, or buying things for this [hopefully] soon-to-be house are much more appealing. Oh well, maybe next paycheck.