Thursday, February 17, 2011

Current need: Vacation

Life is hectic, work is even busier and I feel like I haven't had a moment to stop in what feels like forever. The best solution; vacation. However, it's going to be a while before I manage to fit one of those in. We're short-staffed at work, projects are tripling, everything was needed yesterday, I should be figuring out where I want to take my career (a blog entry in itself), chores around the house are stacking up, any time off feels too planned. Maybe I just need something spontaneous... Like deciding at midnight to drive to Vegas, road tripping to San Fran or picking a point on a map and just going (bad girl road trip plan, I'll explain later). But maybe that's what I need. I think I am coming to terms with getting inadequate sleep, so I might as well make being tired worth it from something fun/exciting/different. I have been known as a planner for most of my life, which is good most of the time (hey a girl's gotta pay the bills), but I want to make the residual time less-planned. Anyone up for an adventure?

In a semi-related note.... I was taking to some coworkers today, and since we've all been a little over-worked lately he joked about how we are just dying slowly. And then went on about how I should stay with this department because I have lots of life to slowly die away. But I guess there is some solace in dying together. Haha. While I actually love my job most of the time, the last week has especially felt like it's draining the life out of me. But I guess what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger (however dependent on actually surviving) ha.

Well wrapping my rambling up, I want/need a vacation. Maybe 2 days to catch up on home life and 2 days (or so) to do something crazy!



Friday, January 28, 2011

One month in...

Well a month into the new year, I figured I'd update all my readers (all maybe 4 of you - but hey it's still a following!!) on how I am doing on my resolutions.  


Spending less time on my phone - I think I am doing better with that when out with friends.  I mean at work I definitely play a few games of scrabble with friends... but when out to dinner, at friends, etc I'd like to think I have looked at my phone less and less.  Although, making a conscious effort to not look at my phone makes me realize how often other people are on their phone.  I think as a population/generation/whatever you want to call us, we definitely overuse our phones.  And it's funny to me to think that it's not even like we are talking on our phones.  When in reality I may talk 200-500 minutes a month (since I am a dorky accountant that is about 1% of a month), but I send/receive 2000+ texts and emails (likely taking up much more time).... and let's not even try to calculate how much time I spend on facebook (thank goodness those minutes and kilobytes of data are not easily tracked).  So maybe I should resolute to actually talk more on my phone... because the other communications are much less personal.  And on that more personal note, I think I am going to single-handedly bring back the hand-written word in the form of cards to friends.  Because let's be honest, EVERYONE loves snail mail.  


So me and the gym are becoming better friends, by no means bffs.  But much better than we used to.  It's weird to think I don't actually hate running as much as I thought... maybe it's because you can kind of just zone out and rock out to music.  Still haven't done any classes... I want to ensure my endurance is up so I don't look like a fool in front of those skinny bitches that make everything look so easy.  


While I haven't actually done any crafts thus far, I have a few projects on the burners on my stove top of life.  One is filling my staircase with pictures.  I bought tons of frames at Ikea and I just need to paint/stain them a desired color, print pictures at Costco, and hang.  Viola!  Second is making this book wreath I've been eying.  It's going to be a conversation piece on my wall and fingers crossed it turns out as good as the one's I've seen online.  Maybe a good project for Saturday.  After I maybe go garage-sale-ing and buy flowers at the farmers market (anyone want to join?!).  


Last week I was really good about Breakfast at home, this week not so much.  But next week is a whole new week and I'm determined!  If I just get my act together and prep on Sunday night, it's much easier throughout the week.  Still have yet to pack a lunch, but I have been packing snacks.  Now I just need to pack more snacks in the form of a lunch.  


I have made two whole dinners at home since the year started, but cooking for one is really the biggest pain in the ass.  Those two were only made for others.  Can someone please make a cookbook about cooking for one (man that sounds really depressing)? Still can't make myself love leftovers, so that will likely always be my problem.  I need a guy that loves food (so there is no leftovers to begin with) or loves leftovers. Either way, problem would be alleviated.   


Well those are my updates on my resolutions.  Can't say I am doing amazingly on any of them, but it is definitely a process.