Monday, January 23, 2012

Snail Mail Resolution/Revolution!!

I decided one thing I resolute to do in 2012 is to bring back good ol' snail mail. Texts and emails have become too commonplace and easy to do.  They take no thought or effort beyond a few keyboard strokes and a send key.   Whereas a letter takes effort, time, penmanship, thought, planning (ie stamps and having their address) and undoubtedly makes the recipient's day better.  Seeing a card/letter addressed to me in the mail makes me skip through all the bills and adds and be eager to see what awaits me behind that licked envelope gum seal!

I resolute to send one card/letter per week (52 in total you math whiz) to anyone who would like to receive a little bit of snail mail love.  It is my plan to spread cheer for all to hear see, and be the revolution that brings back USPS.  USPS, You're welcome! I anticipate a thank you letter any day.

So I urge you to mail cards, thank you's, pictures, notes, packages, anything to friends and pass along the joy without me sending the initial mailing to you directly, although it can be arranged.

As to anyone who is a lucky recipient of my snail mail, I ask you to take two steps forward, and take one step back.  Now are you confused because you actually stood up and took steps and are lost now more than ever, or confused by what the hell I am talking about?  What I mean is you should take two steps forward (in my revolution) and send mail to two of your friends.... forward steps, forward looking... forward mailing and keeping it going!  As far as the one step back, send some snail mail love back to me!  You can send me something fun, or something like a secret (watch out PostSecret!), or just tell me how your day/week/life has been going... let us re-connect.

That little collection of mail-love to your left is proof of my dedication the the mailed-letter.  In the last 3 weeks I have mailed 70 cards to people (ok 52 were invitations, but the other 18 were all me!! Maybe I already deemed you lucky and one is on it's way to you!

If you have yet to receive something... here's what to do:
1.  Send me your address (duh how else will I know where to send it)
2. Go buy some stamps/cards to hold up your end of the deal.  Maybe make some friends? Or write down a strangers address?
3. Get ready for the REVOLUTION!!!!
4.  Be Patient.  I will make the promise to send something to everyone who sends their address.  No soliders left behind. :-)

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Current need: Vacation

Life is hectic, work is even busier and I feel like I haven't had a moment to stop in what feels like forever. The best solution; vacation. However, it's going to be a while before I manage to fit one of those in. We're short-staffed at work, projects are tripling, everything was needed yesterday, I should be figuring out where I want to take my career (a blog entry in itself), chores around the house are stacking up, any time off feels too planned. Maybe I just need something spontaneous... Like deciding at midnight to drive to Vegas, road tripping to San Fran or picking a point on a map and just going (bad girl road trip plan, I'll explain later). But maybe that's what I need. I think I am coming to terms with getting inadequate sleep, so I might as well make being tired worth it from something fun/exciting/different. I have been known as a planner for most of my life, which is good most of the time (hey a girl's gotta pay the bills), but I want to make the residual time less-planned. Anyone up for an adventure?

In a semi-related note.... I was taking to some coworkers today, and since we've all been a little over-worked lately he joked about how we are just dying slowly. And then went on about how I should stay with this department because I have lots of life to slowly die away. But I guess there is some solace in dying together. Haha. While I actually love my job most of the time, the last week has especially felt like it's draining the life out of me. But I guess what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger (however dependent on actually surviving) ha.

Well wrapping my rambling up, I want/need a vacation. Maybe 2 days to catch up on home life and 2 days (or so) to do something crazy!



Friday, January 28, 2011

One month in...

Well a month into the new year, I figured I'd update all my readers (all maybe 4 of you - but hey it's still a following!!) on how I am doing on my resolutions.  


Spending less time on my phone - I think I am doing better with that when out with friends.  I mean at work I definitely play a few games of scrabble with friends... but when out to dinner, at friends, etc I'd like to think I have looked at my phone less and less.  Although, making a conscious effort to not look at my phone makes me realize how often other people are on their phone.  I think as a population/generation/whatever you want to call us, we definitely overuse our phones.  And it's funny to me to think that it's not even like we are talking on our phones.  When in reality I may talk 200-500 minutes a month (since I am a dorky accountant that is about 1% of a month), but I send/receive 2000+ texts and emails (likely taking up much more time).... and let's not even try to calculate how much time I spend on facebook (thank goodness those minutes and kilobytes of data are not easily tracked).  So maybe I should resolute to actually talk more on my phone... because the other communications are much less personal.  And on that more personal note, I think I am going to single-handedly bring back the hand-written word in the form of cards to friends.  Because let's be honest, EVERYONE loves snail mail.  


So me and the gym are becoming better friends, by no means bffs.  But much better than we used to.  It's weird to think I don't actually hate running as much as I thought... maybe it's because you can kind of just zone out and rock out to music.  Still haven't done any classes... I want to ensure my endurance is up so I don't look like a fool in front of those skinny bitches that make everything look so easy.  


While I haven't actually done any crafts thus far, I have a few projects on the burners on my stove top of life.  One is filling my staircase with pictures.  I bought tons of frames at Ikea and I just need to paint/stain them a desired color, print pictures at Costco, and hang.  Viola!  Second is making this book wreath I've been eying.  It's going to be a conversation piece on my wall and fingers crossed it turns out as good as the one's I've seen online.  Maybe a good project for Saturday.  After I maybe go garage-sale-ing and buy flowers at the farmers market (anyone want to join?!).  


Last week I was really good about Breakfast at home, this week not so much.  But next week is a whole new week and I'm determined!  If I just get my act together and prep on Sunday night, it's much easier throughout the week.  Still have yet to pack a lunch, but I have been packing snacks.  Now I just need to pack more snacks in the form of a lunch.  


I have made two whole dinners at home since the year started, but cooking for one is really the biggest pain in the ass.  Those two were only made for others.  Can someone please make a cookbook about cooking for one (man that sounds really depressing)? Still can't make myself love leftovers, so that will likely always be my problem.  I need a guy that loves food (so there is no leftovers to begin with) or loves leftovers. Either way, problem would be alleviated.   


Well those are my updates on my resolutions.  Can't say I am doing amazingly on any of them, but it is definitely a process.  

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Resolutions

Because New Years resolutions are cliche... maybe I'll just start mine a few days earlier...


  • Spend less time on my phone... in all reality its really not necessary
  • Become bffs with the gym, hit a few new classes, gotta look good for all these upcoming weddings hahaha
  • Find my inner crafter - interior decorating is so expensive... so I will break out the hot glue, spray paint and sewing machine and go to town.  Hit up the garage sales and make other people's trash my treasure.  
  • Get up early and eat breakfast at home.... I guess packing my lunch would fit here too.
  • Make dinner more often and try to learn and love leftovers... maybe utilize them in the aforementioned lunches.   

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Delayed Thanksgiving

In light of the recent holiday, I made a list of (some are random) things I am thankful for....


  • My parents, Guild (sort of - ::shakes fist::) and the City of San Marcos for making my condo possible
  • My job - yay for a paycheck, but also more importantly liking what I do
  • Samantha being my pseudo child sometimes - really makes it a lot easier to not have one of my own, spoil her and give her back, woo
  • Costco - do I need to say more?? Actually, I am thankful my mom shops at Costco.... makes it so easy to liberate supplies (she doesn't really  need all of those_____)
  • High heels - they make your legs look so good
  • My dad - he is basically my unpaid laborer at my house (and an amazing one at that)
  • My mom - she loves finding new things I need for my house - yay her
  • My health - and really all of my family's health
  • Football
  • Vegas only being ~5 hours away
  • Old pictures - I love looking back on all the fun things I/we've done
  • Learning via other people's actions/mistakes - thanks for taking one for the team!
  • Pedicures
  • Avocados - they are so delicious
  • Prevalence of Mexican food - I might die living somewhere where this wasn't the case
  • Other people's family drama - way better when it's not your own
  • How much funnier Office Space is the more I work in the corporate world 
  • Caitlyn - and my ability to tell her anything (overshares ftw)
  • Amazon.com prime shipping - no tax and free 2 day shipping rocks my world
  • My brother - will you please move home already? I miss you, and would like you to take up some of mom's energy
  • Happy Hour - 'nuff said
  • Tailgating, and Chargers games
.... and a million more

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Passport Stamps

The Huffington Post recently published a list of what they believe are the 35 most beautiful cities in the world.  I've manage to cross off a few in my travels, but I need to rack up some airline miles and cross off some more.....
1. Florence, Italy
2. Marrakesh, Morroco
3. Sydney, Australia
4. Vancouver, Canada
5. Cape Town, South Africa

6. Venice, Italy
7. San Francisco, California, USA
8
. Tokyo, Japan
9. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
10. Istanbul, Turkey

11. Chicago, Illinois, USA
12. Prague, Czech Republic
13. Paris, France
14. London, UK
15. Amsterdam, The Netherlands

16. New York City, New York
17. Lyon, France
18. Zurich, Switzerland
19. L’viv, Ukraine 

20. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 
21. Stockholm, Sweden
22. Dublin, Ireland

23. Boston, Massachusetts
24. Salzburg, Austria
25. Old Quebec City, Canada
26. Victoria, Canada
27. Monte Carlo, Monaco
28. Reykjavik, Iceland
29. Antigua, Guatemala 

30. Rome, Italy
31. Birmingham, UK
32. Buenos Aires, Argentina
33. Seattle, Washington, USA
34. Lausanne, Switzerland
34. Bruges, Belgium
35. Edinburgh, UK




Out of those visited thus far... I think Amsterdam was my favorite.

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Mommy wow, I'm a big kid now!

Today is the beginning of the rest of my life (again).  Well, I guess there are a few times you say that in your life; graduations, accomplishments, marriage, kids, etc.  But today is one of those days that I will look back on because it signified something monumental.  Today (well tonight) is the first night I am staying in my condo.  Although I technically got the keys on Friday, tonight is my first night sleeping here so it finally feels real.  A place of my very own, something I've worked for (and will have to continue to do so for the next 30 years, no pressure).  I think today makes me feel more like an adult than ever before, it's  a new chapter in my life I am slowly putting together.

Currently the my condo is pretty empty.  The only furniture here is my bed; the walls are bare, the living room is just an open space.  So right now it feels kind of empty (and a little lonely - but good thing my excitement overpowers that).... but in the coming weeks it will come together.  I'm excited for it to come together and be a place I picked out, I purchased and I made into a place to call home. I can't wait for it to feel home-y!!

I've moved out of my parents a few times over the years, with college and renting places around town, but today leaving was different.  Different  because it was basically for good ('God willing and the creek don't rise' as my Grandpa would say).... which didn't really hit me until now.  I tried to ignore my mom who was getting emotional as she watched me pack up my bed; which to her signified it being official.  I wasn't going to be coming home there anymore (I mean I will occasionally - who doesn't love free dinner), but it showed her I was a "big girl" and was officially grown up and out of the little nest I've called home for 24 years. I think she might have an emotional break down the day the rest of my furniture leaves and my room is completely empty (not that she might have not started said breakdown tonight).  I can't really imagine the emotion, I mean I presume it's mostly happy, but it has to be a little sad.  I mean I don't know how all families are, but I think this is much harder on my Mom today, and my Dad is indifferent... Dad is just thinking of his honey-do list I have created for him.  (Dad will encounter this mess of emotion at my wedding - mark my words).  I feel SO lucky to have supportive parents that helped me get to here, and I can't even explain how elated I felt when they both individually told me that they were so proud of me.  I think as kids that's one thing we always want to hear from our parents, besides "I love you".   Thinking about it made me emotional (which is a rarity for those who know me - and thank goodness this isn't a video blog, talk about awkward), but it's just a big step in my life.

Well I better try and get some sleep, although I wonder if it will be reminiscent of childhood when you are too excited to sleep - I hope not, because that will make tomorrow at work not so much fun.  The lack of blinds and east-facing windows will probably ensure I awake earlier than I intended, which might be good on the long run, but not so much tonight/tomorrow.

Au revior from my new humble abode.